The Azores

Everything You Need to Know Before You Go!

Geography of the Azores

<< Go back

The nine islands of the Azores are divided into three groups, based on their geographical position: the Western Group (Corvo and Flores), the Central Group (Faial, Graciosa, Pico, São Jorge and Terceira), and the Eastern Group (São Miguel and Santa Maria).

The highest point of the Archipelago is on Pico (hence its name, which literally translated to "Peak Island"), and at an impressive 2351 meters of altitude, it is the highest mountain in Portugal. Pico Island is basically a very tall submerged volcano, which has been dormant for some time now, and it is the youngest island, the oldest one being Santa Maria.

The Archipelago is the Western frontier of the European Union and, more precisely, the Island of Flores its most occidental point. The Archipelago extends over 2.333 square km, with a population of approximately 237.000. The region has been independent since 1976, when it was granted autonomy, and it now has a Regional Government, consolidated through the Portuguese Constitution.


The Islands:


  • Santa Maria
  • São Miguel
  • Terceira
  • São Jorge
  • Graciosa
  • Faial
  • Pico
  • Flores
  • Corvo